The 2017 Afghan Premier League (APL) central zone regional tournament (Road to APL) kicked-off on April 25, 2017 at Ghazi stadium of Kabul. Ten qualified teams competed to win the trophy and let the players present their football talents and skills. The 2017 APL central zone regional tournament’s draw put Etihad, Saramiyasht, Sabawon, Jawanan-e-Urdo, and Amarkhail in group “A” and Feerozi, Safir, Urdo, Jawanan-e-Panjshir, and Esteqlal in goup “B”. 

All the matches were supervised by the technical team of Afghanistan Football Federation (AFF) to pick the best 21 players for Shaheen Asmayee squad in the APL sixth season. 

Collectively, 20 games were performed by all the teams in this zone and finally Safir and Saramiyasht were the two finalist in the final of 2017 APL central zone regional tournament. Following the finale, Safir suffered a first-half capitulation and ultimately slumped to a 2-0 defeat against Saramiyasht and came second in the zone. This is the second consecutive year that Saramiyasht win the title of APL central zone regional tournament. 

Moreover, Farhad Andar won the Best Player Award of the tournament, Kawash Haidari received the Best Goalkeeper Award, and Fair Play Award presented to Esteqlal team in this regional tournament. 

The three-time APL champions and 2015 APL runners-up, Shaheen Asmayee, represents Kabul.  The team has been one of the well-known powerhouses in the APL, attracting huge number of fans. 

The APL main event’s matches will broadcast live on TOLO TV, Lemar TV, Arman FM, and Arakozai FM. Watch more videos on the APL YouTube page at ( Visit ( for more updates.