The 2017 Afghan Premier League (APL) west zone regional tournament (Road to APL) to determine the 2017 Toofan Harirod 21-man squad took place from May 18th to May 25th in Herat province. Toofan Harirod represents western provinces of Herat, Ghor, and Badghis. The competing teams in this tournament were each Esteqlal, Etefaq, Ansari, Sorkhposhan, Farah, Sarafan-e-Herat, Badghis, and Ghor.

After a thrilling round of matches among the eight teams, Sarafan-e-Herat triumphed over Esteqlal in the final and claimed the championship title of the tournament. Reza Ghafori, Sarafan’s striker, won the Best Player of Tournament Award and Golab Noori received the Best Goalkeeper Award in the west zone. Additionally, Farah secured the Fair Play Award of the tournament.
All the matches were supervised and judged by AFF licensed coaches and officials. With the new and talented faces in this year, Toofan is keen to have a significant achievement in 2017 APL and claim the championship title once again.

Toofan were the 2012 APL champions with a perfect winning record and they claimed the 3rd position with a commanding 4-0 win over Oqaban Hindukosh in 2013. Toofan took an impressive victory over Shaheen Asmayee in 2016 APL, one of the strongest teams; however, their thunderbolt was caught out by De Maiwand Atalan later  and ultimately was eliminated in the group stage as the team could not secure a 3-0 triumph over De Abasin Sape.   

You can watch videos of the west regional tournament on APL YouTube page on ( Like APL Instagram (Afghanpremierleague.official) for more updated photos of Toofan Harirod team. Read more about the coming events on (