The Roshan Afghan Premiere League will kick off next week after the official draw was revealed Tuesday night in a ceremony attended by the eight teams from across the country.

Two groups comprised of four teams each will play against each other with a total of 18 matches to be played in Kabul before the grand final match on October 19.

Group A is comprised of the teams De Maiwand Atalan, Shahin Asmayee, De Abasin Sapi and De Spinghar Bazan. In Group B, Tofan Harirod, Simorgh Alburz, Oqaban Hidokush and Mawjhai Amu.

The first match will be played between De Maiwand Atalan, representing south west Afghanistan, and Shahin Asmayee from Greater Kabul next Tuesday September 18 in Kabul.

The country's first premier league competition is widely expected to improve the quality of football in Afghanistan and improve the selection process for the Afghan National Football team.

"As we begin to play in a league format, this is a new step for Afghan football. It will be promoted all over Afghanistan and the better players will be invited to try for the national team," Afghan National Football Team head coach Yousuf Kargar said.

He added that it will positively impact all aspiring football players in Afghanistan as well as improve the overall quality of the sport.

"The league will play a vital role in improving the quality of football in Afghanistan," he said, adding that all matches will be conducted in line with all international standards and rules of football.

This is the first ever national football league in Afghanistan.